Valiant by Kim Hargreaves

This is the first Hargreaves pattern I have knitted since Kim has gone out on her own: Valiant in Rowan Cocoon. Hard to believe considering I have all her books.

Valiant by Kim Hargreaves
Valiant by Kim Hargreaves

I’m more than happy with the outcome.

Valiant by Kim Hargreaves
Valiant by Kim Hargreaves

A close-up of the neck:

Valiant by Kim Hargreaves
Valiant by Kim Hargreaves

Pattern: Valiant by Kim Hargreaves. Dead easy, quick, with the collar to keep it interesting.
Yarn: Rowan Cocoon. I was worried that Cocoon would behave exactly like Rowan Polar, which is discontinued. It sort of does – fuzzy pilling – but not nearly as bad as Polar. I wish it came in other sorts of colours, but will be expecting to use it again anyway.
Modifications: I didn’t modify this, but wish I had. I don’t know if you can tell from looking at the neck, but it is folded inside as otherwise it would be bigger than my head. Ie when you are doing the neck which is knitted separately and sewn on, you may well wish to cast on less stitches to make it less bulky. Maybe I did something wrong with the neck, but if so, I can’t tell what.
Thoughts: I’m knitting this again for sure and I think it is going to be in another bulky but light yarn, RYC Alpaca Soft, which I bought for the purpose.

One thought on “Valiant by Kim Hargreaves

Leave a Reply

