Finished: Easy Lace Cardigan

I decided this would be my last summer project:

Easy Lace Cardigan by Barbara Khouri
Easy Lace Cardigan by Barbara Khouri

Andrea visited me today thinking to get a bit of advice on something she was in the throws of sewing up….

Easy Lace Cardigan modelled by Andrea
Easy Lace Cardigan modelled by Andrea

Little did she know what was in store:

Easy Lace Cardigan designed by Barbara Khouri
Easy Lace Cardigan designed by Barbara Khouri

as she spent half an hour in the garden being my model….

Easy Lace Cardigan
Easy Lace Cardigan

Pattern Easy Lace Cardigan by Barbara Khouri, only available online at Patternfish This is a simple lace project – monotonous after a while, so definitely TV watching is in order for the duration. On the other hand, I am still so uncomfortable with lace knitting of even the simplest kind that this was maybe just what I needed for the practice of recognising what I was doing and dealing with the odd mistake. The layout of the instructions goes out of its way to be helpful, by the way.
Yarn Debbie Bliss Cotton Cashmere in teal. My early yarn purchases were almost all mistakes and this was one of them. Well, half of one. I bought 2 packets of it, tried one, gave away the whole packet and kept this one. I didn’t enjoy knitting with it one bit and it is certainly not suitable for a pattern with lace. Although I stuck with the recommended gauge I can’t help feeling that a looser gauge would have been a good thing. It’s as stiff as a board at the moment. Maybe washing it will help.
Modifications The instructions have this knitted in pieces. I thought maybe it would be better done in one piece, given that it might be hard to sew up the lacy sides. I separated it at the point where I wanted the armhole to start. Easy. For the sleeve caps I also ignored the instruction to knit these straight and then sew on. I sewed the shoulders and then picked up stitches around the armhole, knitted down. The bottom was seriously curling on this, so I decided to add a few rows of garter stitch to the bottom and also the arms. I think it fits in style-wise and looks maybe a bit more finished.
Thoughts Undecided on this one. It looks great on Andrea, not so sure about on me!

One thought on “Finished: Easy Lace Cardigan

Leave a Reply

