Sorting out hoodies once and for all.

There are SO many hoodies out there in pattern land that I’ve gotten to a point where my head swims every time I think about which one to go for. This is to sort out my own thoughts….if it helps anybody else, great!

When Wanderlust Hoodie first came out in Interweave Knits, lust pretty much summed up how I felt about it. I love cable patterns that don’t look contrived, I love its cozy chunky look, I imagined I would live it in, reluctantly taking it off to shower each day. Imagined is the operative word. There was no actual meeting of knitting needles on this…or on any others mentioned in this post.

Wanderlust Hoodie
Wanderlust Hoodie

This is the one – Central Park Hoodie – that everybody’s had a go at.

Central Park Hoodie
Central Park Hoodie

I guess it’s for sporty people – is that it? Sorry, I don’t understand the fad with this one. All the others in this post I’d by happy to try, but not this one. Maybe I’m too old to like it.

Probably the most famous internet patterns for hoodies being knitted at the moment are from Twist Collective. Ysolda is responsible for Vivien, which some say is fiendishly difficult:

Vivian by Ysolda
Vivian by Ysolda

Who didn’t put this straight onto their must-be-done list? Ysolda actually managed to make cables look sexy. How DOES she do it? And yet, however gorgeous it is, I’m not sure that I wouldn’t feel more comfortable lounging about in Shirley Paden’s Wanderlust Hoodie. You’d get dressed in Vivan. You’d live in Wanderlust. Well, I would!

Vivian, a sexy hoodie? How's that?
Vivian, a sexy hoodie? How's that?

Twist Collective could have rested right there with the hoodie of the year, but oh no. They had to obfuscate the situation with ANOTHER hoodie of the year, in the SAME issue. Yes, I’m talking about Sylvi

Sylvi by Marie Muinonen
Sylvi by Marie Muinonen

And yes, plain but darn cute from the front:

Sylvi front view. Hmmm. Do I have the right boots?
Sylvi front view. Hmmm. Do I have the right boots?

I’m a tad nervous about this one: is it going to be too heavy? And if done in a light yarn, would that mean some sort of alpaca/mohair based yarn which would obscure the lovely detail?

Getting back to something a bit less extravagant, what about this:

hoodie-sweater-with-hood-by-stylecraft

You can get this as a .pdf download from Patternfish. I am really taken with this. Cables and bobbles not overdone, but it seems to me more stylish than the Central Park Hoodie. Maybe it’s more adult. Speaking of which….

I rather like this, too, for simple and stylish, also a download from Patternfish:

Grown-up Hoodie by Kira Dulaney
Grown-up Hoodie by Kira Dulaney

I adore this one:

Hooded Pullover by Deborah Newton
Hooded Pullover by Deborah Newton

From a recent Vogue issue, it is also available as a download here. Adore it maybe, but I’m also scared of it. What is it going to look like on a grown-up short person who needs bust darts? Disaster?

I could go on. I haven’t even mentioned the sleeveless hoodies, some of which are rather nice too. But that’s enough confusion for one post.

2 thoughts on “Sorting out hoodies once and for all.

  1. I smiled at your hesitation to make my VK design! I think the design is best in a yarn that the sample was made in, the one that appeared in the magazine– something very drapey and flowing. And the vertical lines help too, don’t they? Not trying to sell you, just pleased that you liked it enough to consider it along with all the other beauties!

    Happy knitting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

