Contrary Clarissa

One thing strikes me about Clarissa at the moment. I have no idea where her head’s at (so to speak). She’s just all over the place. One moment it’s fighting for Somalia, the next moment it’s crocheted bicycle covers. I’d say it was hormones if…you know….

We went to the Brunswick music festival the other week and now she’s asked me to knit her a pair of socks. I looked rather dubious but she said ‘Oh, they aren’t for me’ (that was not a great surprise since she doesn’t have any feet). ‘They’re for Greg’. She simpered. Honestly, simpered. There is no other word for it. We’d been to see Greg Champion, you see, and Clarissa has been giggling ever since.

I figured she needed a reality check. ‘Clarissa’ I said,

(a) Greg has a beautiful girlfriend, have you thought about that? You saw her that night.
(b) He is tall. You know what they say about tall men. Big feet. NOBODY knits socks for men with big feet, let along for men as a favour to somebody else.
(c) What about Fevola? You can’t be carrying a candle for Fevola one day and fancy Greg Champion the next. Get some consistency, girl.’

As usual she had an answer for everything.

(a) She may be a beautiful girlfriend, but can she write? I’m going to send Greg some songs for him to play on Sat morning. They’ll be the funniest, cleverest songs he has ever received. They will make him fall in love with me.
(b) His feet aren’t that big, really, he has quite refined feet for a man of his size. AND you are a fast knitter, are you not? She stared at me. Daring me to disagree, I suppose.
(c)….

She muttered something about not liking how Fevola had played on Saturday. It’s all very well, she said, to get those goals at the end when they are desperately needed – she was talking about the game against Brisbane – but if he’d gotten them earlier on they wouldn’t have been desperately needed, would they? It was logic hard to argue with. But was it enough to make a girl turn from Fevola to Champion??? I feel like there is more going on here than I’ve been told about….I’ll let you know if I uncover what the real story is.

4 thoughts on “Contrary Clarissa

  1. Don’t do it! Socks are a big commitment, when there isn’t even the promise of a first date. Men can smell desperate, and Champion will take the socks and run for the hills!

    Me? I started knitting a St Kilda scarf, 2 weeks into dating my now husband and that was 10 years ago. Handmade knits are great for luring men, but it’s all in the timing.

    Like

  2. Clarissa, look trouble looms at home, could you remind the fridge monitor about .. mushroms, white asparagus, chinese vegetables, wonton soup, sweet corn, Mersey Valley Cheese – and don’t worry about the chocolate mousse.. thats all for the moment… thanks

    Like

  3. Clarissa has been seen hand in hand with the Stig, word is she is undertaking a secret knitting project. Some say it is a James Norbury for him!! Has she defected?

    Like

Leave a Reply

