Finished: Twisted V-pullover

I decided to follow this one to the letter: Twisted V-pullover by Alice Halbeisen. It is available free from Interweave Press, though their site is so irritating to use, I can’t readily find the link.

V-neck pullover by Alice Halbeisen
V-neck pullover by Alice Halbeisen

Like others I added a little to the length…also like others, I still wish I’d added more!

Twisted-V Pullover
Twisted-V Pullover

I’ve never knitted something with so much negative ease – too much???

Twisted-V Pullover
Twisted-V Pullover

Pattern Twisted V-pullover by Alice Halbeisen
Yarn Zara. It’s not as good as Karabella Aurora 8, but still, I’m more than happy to use it.
Modifications Added length and really, unless you are a complete exhibitionist, you have to do this.
Thoughts Well written out pattern, fun to knit. I’ve spent a couple of years avoiding the purl part of twisted rib, but it is only on the sleeves and you could do these in the round as well. I found, however, that it wasn’t the drama I was expecting. I accepted the advice about negative ease and, although a super-tight sweater isn’t really my thing, I’m not unhappy!

5 thoughts on “Finished: Twisted V-pullover

  1. Thanks for the photos and your thoughts on this pattern. I am in the process of making it, and can’t quite figure out the “V-neck shaping”. I’m not quite sure what to do with the removable marker, and what to do with this stitch.

    Also, turning the work at the “V” doesn’t make any sense to me. It seems like the left front will have more rows than the right.

    Like

    • That middle stitch at the neck simply sits on a stitch marker for later when you are finishing the neck with rib….These are the instructions you are having trouble with I think:

      Shape V-Neck
      K38 (42, 46, 50, 54) for left front, place removable marker through next st and remove it
      from needle, turn work. Working back and forth in rows (center front is beg of row), purl 1
      row. Next row: (RS) K1, ssk (see Glossary), knit to last 3 sts, k2tog, k1—2 neck sts dec’d.
      Dec 1 st at each neck edge in this manner every 4th row 10 (11, 11, 13, 13) more times
      and at the same time when piece measures 12 (12½, 12½, 13, 13½)” (30.5 [31.5, 31.5,
      33, 34.5] cm) from CO, on a RS row, knit to right underarm, join a second ball of yarn
      and knit to left underarm, place the last 77 (85, 93, 101, 109) sts worked on holder for
      back, knit to end of row.

      When I reread them, I must say, they don’t make sense to me either! But what you are doing now, having ‘dropped’ that middle stitch to a marker, is that you are no longer knitting in the round. You are knitting one long row that goes from the centre all the way around the back and around the other side to the stitch right before the ‘dropped’ one again. I hope that makes sense to you now.

      Like

  2. Thanks, Cathy! I did get it through my brain all by myself last night too. My problem was thinking that the “working back and forth in rows” was just across the FRONT. Now I’m worried that it’s going to be too short, but I’m only 5′ 5″ so will take my chances. I don’t want to rip this out again! I’m anxious to try it on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

