Food package

I got given supplies from the UK yesterday. Vegemite. Kettle chips. And several cheeses including my absolute favourite, Yarg. I don’t know if you can get it in Australia: it’s a mild cheese wrapped in nettles, though a new second version has wild garlic leaves instead. If you look at their site: Yarg Cornish Cheese you will see that it is a small business taking great pride in what they do. Their cows are not fed grain at all, their nettle leaves have picked by hand from the side of the road. Please try it if if you get the chance. I never experienced UK cheeses until earlier this year in Manchester, and I had no idea what I’d been missing out on.

Kettle chips. The recipe in the UK is completely different from in Australia and the chips taste a million times better. I feel like starting a campaign to get Kettle Chips Australia to pull their socks up.

Found some nice, but mysterious tea bags yesterday in my local supermarket. Much better than Liptons, which dominate hereabouts. But perhaps it doesn’t matter that much. The milk here tastes WEIRD. I have no idea why, the only thing I was wondering was if it is the diet of the cows. It is homogenised and pasturised, but so it would be in Australia or England, so that’s not the cause. I’ve tried a variety of brands and fat contents, so that doesn’t seem to be the issue. I’m hoping to get to the bottom of this at some point.

2 thoughts on “Food package

Leave a Reply

