The sales

Yep, pretty much like Australia, post-Christmas sales.

Manor is an upmarket department store that I would put in the David Jones category, except their food area is much bigger. Fruit and vegetables, seafood, poultry, meat and bread are all in abundance at prices that are not impossible. Fruit and vegetables are much cheaper than DJs, but meat makes DJs look like a bit of a bargain.

I haven’t been able to make myself eat fresh seafood. When you are brought up by the sea, as most Australians are, it is hard to buy seafood in landlocked areas. I know that actually the seafood markets of France probably aren’t that far away, but heck. It’s another country. The locals prize seafood that comes from their lake, for which you pay a premium, but I wouldn’t touch it with a barge pole. That was my instinctive reaction and nothing I’ve heard since changes that. In fact the water was so polluted in the 1980s that almost all fish life was wiped out. Wiki gives more on this: Lake Geneva

I haven’t bought anything in the sales yet, but I have my eye on some bath sheets. The towels in the apartment I’m in are tiny. I like to drown in a towel.

Leave a Reply

