Spinach soup in very nearly Stephanie Alexander’s method.

The thing that leaves me baffled about that restaurant habit of pureeing a pumpkin and calling it soup of the day, is that there are so many simple soups that can be made quickly and make a restaurant look like it cares. If pumpkin is the soup, I’m moving onto the next restaurant; if they don’t care about the soup, why should I think they care about any of the rest of what they do?

Stephanie’s spinach soup starts off:

Sweat an onion, several large diced potatoes and some garlic in olive oil. Cover with water and simmer until potato is soft. Throw in a bunch of chopped stemmed spinach. Maybe 5 minutes later puree. Add salt, pepper, ground roasted cumin.

I did all this and rather than use water to adjust the soup to my preferred thinness, I used milk instead. Gently reheated. I doubt this means I will be expelled from the spinach soup paradigm.

Voila.

Spinach soup
Spinach soup

2 thoughts on “Spinach soup in very nearly Stephanie Alexander’s method.

  1. 1. You used a French word in your post. The end is nigh.

    2. I don’t understand your disdain for pumpkin soup, which involves just as much manipulation of the ingredients as the soup you have desribed above. I generally fry my pumpkin or squash with onion, garlic and chilli (sometimes cumin seed, depending on my mood), then add some homemade veg stock and a slug of dark rum, simmer ’til soft, puree, taste, salt, pepper and add more chilli if I’m feeling daring. How is that different from your soup?!

    3. Putting milk or cream in a soup is just plain evil. I need to go and wash my mouth out just thinking about it.

    Like

  2. You don’t like cream of soups? Oh, I love them. I often put in less cream than a typical English recipe would advocate, but still, the thing itself seems essential to me. Otherwise it is just a diet food trying to look edible…..

    As for your pumpkin soup recipe, that’s all very well, but I assure you it isn’t what you get if you order pumpkin soup in a restaurant….more’s the pity, it sounds good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

