The good and the bad. High end in Adelaide.

One of our first eating experiences in Australia was also an absolute highlight. Georges on Waymouth is still good, I’m happy to say. Maybe even relieved to say. I spend my life here in Europe complaining to Manny about how bad the food is. Good quality fresh ingredients abound in the markets, but what happens to these when they are set upon by European chefs is depressing to witness. Now Manny has seen the light and he is both willing and able to back me up as I go on and on AND ON in Europe about why I’m unhappy to eat out once I’ve left Australia.

George's on Waymouth
George’s on Waymouth

George's on Waymouth (2)

George's on Waymouth (3)

George's on Waymouth (4)

George's on Waymouth (5)

George's on Waymouth (6)

George's on Waymouth (7)

George's on Waymouth (8)

George's on Waymouth (9)

George's on Waymouth (10)

George's on Waymouth (11)

I wrote that last year. This year the equivalent meal was at Lenzerheize. As you can see from the site, the building is beautiful and the food looked the part too. The waiter was attentive – as he might well have been, since we were the only table in sight. But I’d said to my sister I really didn’t want to go to a Swiss/French restaurant and how right was I. The food wasn’t a patch on Georges. I had a seafood starter where I had to saw my way through lobster (etc.). Overcooked doesn’t begin to cover it. Most of the rest was on the insipid side. The restaurant is known for its high tea and indeed the desserts were the highlight by all accounts.

House made bread was a good start.
House made bread was a good start.

Lenzerheide (11)

Rock lobster might be okay, but rock hard lobster is a big no-no.
Rock lobster might be okay, but rock hard lobster is a big no-no.

Lenzerheide (1)

Bland. But then, it is Swiss.
Bland. But then, it is Swiss.

Lenzerheide (3)

Lenzerheide (4)

Lenzerheide (5)

Lenzerheide (6)

Lenzerheide (7)

Lenzerheide (8)

One thought on “The good and the bad. High end in Adelaide.

  1. Hmmm – just looked at your links…think I will confine myself to eating at home. We had chicken breasts cooked with lemon juice, garlic and rosemary with a little plain couscous plus fresh green salad and sliced tomato. Fresh fruit salad for second course. (It took about twenty minutes to prepare plus cooking time and cost a good deal less than a single main serve at the Lenzerheide – which I consider to be grossly over-rated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

