Queueing? Not even for vegemite icecream.

We are standing outside a cafe in suburban Adelaide. It is a lousy evening, below 20C and unpleasantly windy. Unlikely for Adelaide in January, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles. Speaking of which, the place we are trying to get into is The Eggless Dessert Cafe. They open at 8pm, we got there at 8.15pm and there was already a queue and a 45 minute waiting list. Just imagine if they were in the middle of town on a good night.

Clearly there is only one way I am only ever going to get to this cafe and that is by booking, which they accept for 6+ people. Some other trip it will happen, if only because I have a desperate curiosity to test the vegemite icecream. It has to be done, doesn’t it?

Having exchanged a comment about this on my last post, I have to qualify the idea I would never queue. If a nice waiter takes me to a bar, sits me down and offers me a drink while I wait for a table – yes. That’s my idea of queueing.

One thought on “Queueing? Not even for vegemite icecream.

  1. I’m glad you brought this up. If I may paraphrase my older son for a moment: why, why WHY didn’t we eat Vegemit ice-cream when we were in Adelaide? Why?

    I intend to mention this every other day until we are next in Australia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

