Potato drop scones

Potato drop scones

In the first edition of Stephanie Alexander’s Cook’s Companion, this recipe is rather short on instructions. My second edition is not to hand, so I don’t know if this is one of the things to which she subsequently attended.

1 potato: I used three smallish potatoes to make up my idea of a medium large, since SA says no more than ‘one potato’. I grated the potato.
1 egg
1 tblsp plain flour
handful chopped parsley
cream
salt and pepper to taste

Puree the potato, egg and flour in your preferred manner. Add the other ingredients, I think SA suggests one and a half tblesp cream. You have a batter. Because of the potato content it will discolour, so this isn’t a batter you let sit.

Heat a little oil/butter in a non-stick pan – I tried med-high heat, again SA doesn’t say, add about a tblsp of batter at a time, how many to the pan depends on size, needless to say; I did about 4 at a time. Fry until brown on bottom, turn, fry – none of this takes long.

These should be eaten straight from the pan.

Why not use them instead of blinis? I served them last night with smoked salmon and sour cream with dill. Yum.

With a very thin layer of salmon and a little sour cream spread on them you could roll them into something you ate with a tooth pick as finger food.

Leave a Reply

