My own curry

I could have sworn I’d already written this up, but apparently not. It’s my own and everybody loves it!

If you can get mutton shanks do this:

Ask the butcher to cut them into chunks.

Boil mutton shanks in plenty of water which is reduced by a lot of vigorous boiling after you have removed the shanks: maybe after 2 hours.

Heat some ghee and fry onion over moderate heat until soft and translucent, add garlic and ginger and then on a low heat Master Curry Powder. For 1.5 kg of meat, I’d add two heaped dessertspoons. Add tin(s) of tomatoes which have been pureed. Fry until it looks nicely cooked, maybe fat is peeping out of the sides. Add the strongly reduced stock and the deboned meat. Simmer about 30 minutes.

Serve with everyday rice.

I’m sorry there are not better instructions for this. It depends what you start off with. I always try to make lots when I make a curry and then freeze most of it for later.

That’s how I first wrote it, but in practice for reasons to do with the Australian dollar or something I was no longer able to find mutton locally and I can’t find it in Geneva at all. So, using lamb shanks, or, as I’m doing today for a change, beef which is off the bone but very fatty, it should be good for the job:

Today in a large wide pan in heated ghee I started off rendering the larger pieces of fat I cut off the beef. Discard (or eat!) those, add the chopped onion and, as before, fry gently over moderate heat until soft and translucent, add the garlic and ginger and then on a lower heat Master Curry Powder. Then add the meat and mix thoroughly. Finally, the tomatoes and probably some extra water. You can always reduce the sauce later if necessary. Bring to the boil, and then lower heat to a simmer for up to a couple of hours. Sit overnight, skim fat from the top before reheating.

Leave a Reply

