Caving in.

I’ve gone and done it. Last year I avoided the Australian mangoes shipped to Switzerland for Christmas at vast expense – 10CHF a pop which is $15. But this year I’ve just spotted them at half that price. Most mangoes that we can buy hereabouts are from South America and smell of exactly nothing. You can get Thai mangoes with their typical heady scent, but they are teensy and 9CHF or so per piece.

So what am I getting for my 5CHF a mango? If I were home I’d be thinking yeah, this is what a mango smells like. But here? I’m not smelling mango, I’m smelling Australia. And that’s a jolly fine thing indeed.

Leave a Reply

