Marcia’s scones

In Australia I’m fixed in the perplexing position that everybody else’s scones are better than mine. Given there is an adjustment that must be made for not having had to make them, the fact is, mine don’t stack up. That’s despite all the research and practising and experimenting I can muster.

Marcia is a case in point. The first time I tried her scones she was in a caravan making do and produced scones as good as any I’ve ever eaten. I demolished them by the dozen. Much later I asked for, and was given, the recipe.

In Europe and the UK it is impossible to get good scones. At best they are heavy, dense, with an overly sweet biscuit-crumbly texture. I’m less inclined to be disappointed by my own efforts here as they are so much better than the options. Most recently I tried Marcia’s recipe, noting that it takes away the messy labour of rubbing butter into flour.

Marcia’s Scones

4 cups sifted SR flour
1 teasp salt
300 mls pouring cream
enough milk to make a damp mixture

Mix ingredients, place on well-floured surface and knead/fold to smooth dough, adding flour if necessary.

Roll to 1/2″ or 3/4″ thickness and cut into scone shapes. Baste with milk.

180C oven 15-20 minutes. They don’t need to be touching.

Other than needing a bit more salt than I included, these were great. Lower heat, longer cooking time is the main difference from the method of cooking scones made with butter. Whether this is necessary, I don’t know. A half portion of this makes about 8 scones.

2 thoughts on “Marcia’s scones

  1. or one could just use the CWA scone mix? My late mother used to produce good “cheese scones” but I have never mastered the art. I don’t actually like scones enough to want to make them too often.
    There is also a version made with lemonade of all things. A neighbour used to make them. They went stale almost as soon as they had cooled down.

    Like

    • In fact I was happy to use Vidal (spelling?) mix when it existed. I’m not familiar with the CWA one. As for lemonade, I’m willing to try soda water some time, but I really don’t like sweet scones. The sweetness should come from what one puts on them. As for the English habit of dried fruit in scones? Ugggh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

