Sauce for roast duck

I discuss how I cook duck breast here.

While that is happening, make the sauce:

Ingredients

  • Shallot
  • Garlic
  • Grapeseed oil (or cooking fat of your preference)
  • 2 teasps Dijon mustard
  • 2 teasps honey
  • 2 teasps Thai chilli paste
  • Several glugs of Swedish punsch

Method

Finely chop and then gently fry the shallot and garlic in the oil in a small saucepan. When softened, pour in a generous quantity of the punsch, increase heat to boiling and burn off the alcohol content. Turn down to low and stir in the mustard, honey and chilli paste. On a low heat this will reduce to a thick sauce while the duck is cooking.

My aim was to end up with something sweet – as complements duck so well – but with a little kick.

Serve

With mash, to which I added a little of the rendered duck fat and milk. I served the sauce on the side.

Notes

This is one of those recipes you alter according to what is on hand. I wanted something sweet by way of alcohol, hence the punsch that was in the fridge, but otherwise I would have used a combination of sake and mirin.

I happened to have Dijon mustard, but any mustard would do, I’m sure.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Sauce for roast duck

Leave a Reply

